Hello to All

Hello all,

I am glad to have found this group. I will be turning 40 in October and was diagnosed in April of 2013 when I was 38. I had Neck pain for quite a while and headaches many times a week for years. Eventually in October of 2012 I found a lump on my neck which I was first told was a cyst, after further imaging I was told it was a Benign nerve sheath tumor. I was told its nothing to worry about , I finally got through all the doctors appointments and got up the courage to have surgery and have the tumor removed in April of 2013. The surgery had chances of nerve damage which could effect my left arm. I am an electrician so It was a big concern to me, as I use my arms over my head during normal work. I had the surgery on April 2, 2013 and was happy to hear all was good and I was on the road to recovery. My left arm could not be raised above chest height but PT would help it . My world changed on April 10th 2013 when I went for a follow up on the stiches in my neck. I was told on that day That I had Synovial Sarcoma. My left arm was no concern anymore. As you all know your mind goes spinning , I had no idea what a synovial sarcoma was or how serious it was. Long story short I found myself at Sloan Kettering in NYC and Commack NY for 35 Radiation treatments to clean up my surgery site. My tumor was removed in a few pieces. After completing my Radiation treatments I had lost my taste buds, and the ability to swallow food. I can say Luckily none of the effects were permanent. I have fully restored my taste buds, swallowing food, my left arm is working good enough for me. I have been scanning every 3 months since my surgery and have been NED ( no evidence of disease) for 17 months. Early on in 2013 I attended the Sarcoma foundation of America annual patient conference in NYC and met a Girl for Gave me the Hope I needed at that time. She Had the same disease as me and also a similar tumor site in her neck. She was 24 years old and was diagnosed at 18. S