Adamantinoma

Hi, my name is Disco (anonymous). I was recently diagnosed with adamantinoma of the right proximal tibia. I found out because it fractured while I was playing volleyball. I know this is not a group for adamantinoma, but I could not find any because it is so rare. Since bone cancer accounts for 1% of all cancers, and adamantinoma accounts for less than 1% of that 1%… I didn’t know where to turn. I was scared and found this group through calling a suicide hotline. I just felt like giving up, and although it has a good survival rate on the studies I’ve read, I’ve basically lost my entire life. Just 4 months before this I graduated nursing school after struggling to support myself for 5 years as a nurse aid. I thought I had made it through and could finally be happy and have a family. But now I can’t walk without crutches or a wheelchair, I can’t work in my profession that I dreamed of for so long. I had an orif for the fracture because they thought it was fibrous dysplasia, but biopsy was positive for Adamantinoma. I am trying to work with the mayo clinic to figure out a course of action. They said my options are wait and watch since it is so slow growing, have a risky titanium tibia implant (infection etc), or amputate. Most studies say amputation does not prevent metastasis. And I can’t imagine having to lose my leg at 29 years old, or any age really. I feel like my dreams have crumbled in front of me. No one can really understand because I can’t seem to find anyone with the same disease. So I came here to find support. Some kind of hope shot. Please reach out to me if you can think of anything.

Hi Disco,
I understand some of where you are coming from. My cancer was Synovial Cell Sarcoma and I can never find much on that either.
I think Mayo is a teaching hospital, correct? If so you need to pick 1 or 2 doctors from there that you can trust and question everything, then go with your gut and heart.